Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Advice on Filter and Air Pump
RafflesGold Forums > Discussion Area > Green Water, Filtration and Tank Setup
TeD
Just got a 80l tank and i need some filtartion! Just rearing some common gold fishes, around 6(2inch), i know it's abit cramp, I have to forgo sponge filter where many exp guys here would higher reccommend , could I have the 2nd best options beside the spong filters, please feel free to comment.

Believe some of the options as follow
1) OHF
2) Eheim Ecco 2331

peace.gif need some comments... Thanks alot!
mountain
if you have not bought any of the OHF or Eheim Ecco 2331, go buy a sponge filter..
if you had .. then use the OHF because you need frequent cleaning. OHF makes water changing easier .. i think . i have never used an Eheim before
CP
Whats the capacity of the ecco?
You should not exceed 320 l/hr otherwise the current in your tank will be too strong.
jhansolo
maybe you should seriously consider the media you put inside the OHF and ecco. I was almost going to buy an Ecco when I restarted earlier this year ... now I have 2 of the classic.

http://www.RafflesGold.com/forums/index.ph...pic=518&hl=ecco

I do have sponge filter as from my experience it is the fastest to cycle... Do reconsider sponge filter.

http://www.RafflesGold.com/forums/index.ph...owtopic=830&hl=

cheers
Allan
Any form of bio-filtration will work as long as you aren't grooming but keeping your goldfish as ornaments.

I don't know which OHF you have in mind but unless it's designed and manufacturered in Germany, I'd definitely go for the Ehiem because it's cool looking, operates quietly, reliable and expensive.

Btw, it's Ecco 2231 (not 2331): http://www.eheim.com/ecco-2.html
dOlBy