Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Goldfish Newbie
RafflesGold Forums > Discussion Area > Fancy Goldfish
Pages: 1, 2
felinefrend
Hi all,
I am a newbie on fishes in general - I never had fishes before - well, with exception of a betta and it commited sucide on me.

I am in love with Pearl Scale GFs! biggrin.gif LOVE LOVE them - big belly short fins shiok.gif

I currently have 1 that had recovered from Ick and bought 2 baby ones - no definate colors yet - yeah, cheapie ones 30cents.. as I am a newbie the chances of them dying on me is very very high. Maybe those that are not culled are sold to the LFS.

I had read thro the forums and noticed that all are goldfish connoisseurs beg2.gif so don't mind my cheap pearlscales gfs and my route of "keeping goldfish learning".

I keep them in my office a 12L tank (i know it is too small but I cannot have it too big in the office) and it has a heater to regulate at 25 degrees with a thermometer to ensure that, a airpump and a OH filter. Bare, no gravel, once a week 100% water change... now, 20-25% change every 2- 3 days (depending on the water condition).

I bought interpet gold Fish safe for mid-week to "freshen" up the goldfish water but have not started on that yet... Anyone tried this yet?? Any review? As right now, it is just Tetra AquaSafe and salt.

The baby pearlscales - one in white and another in blackish copper ? I suspect it will not remain black, it will eventually turn gold biggrin.gif I am just basking in the new goldfish owner joy of watching their fishes swimming in the water and waiting for it to change its color. - just dont mind me. wink.gif

Just wanted to intro ... "Hello!" and yes, I have cats (regarding my nick).
later....
desireless
Halo felinefrend hi.gif

It is good to be seeing new members coming in and posting.

There are many many Pearlscales connoisseurs here too. Long long ago, there used to be a "PS competition" here... but it ended up non-conclusive blush.gif