Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Does Calico Goldfish Require Color Enhancer
RafflesGold Forums > Discussion Area > Fancy Goldfish
celf98
Heloo,

Newbie here, just wondering... does Calico require color enhancer in their diet, as their color is mix and match. Thankx.
jiashun
no harm introducing colour enhancing pellet type. that's my opinion. smile.gif
goldrush
The answer can be yes and no

If your fish are kept outdoor with sun,algae,green water with lots of natural ingredients then you would not need color enhancers and the only determining factor would be solid genetics.
However most of us do not keep fish closest to their natural environment so color enhancing can be helpful.Try to obtain natural color enhancers like spirulina or shrimp based and not synthetic based one as it gives an unnatural look.
It does not mean that calico with their variegated colors need more enhancing, metallics and nacreous ones are just as demanding.

yes.gif yes.gif yes.gif

goldrush
celf98
I see, I do keep it in the pond, where it gets plenty of sun, and algae on the wall for them to feed on, not a green water. WEll, I'll probably won't feed much color enhancer food then, mostly wheat germ and blood worm. Maybe every 1.5 week, feed some Hikari (which contain spirullina)
Thanks for the input guys, if there is anything I can improve, feel free to give me tips, my ears are open good.gif
gohks
QUOTE(celf98 @ Sat, 29 Apr 2006 11:54 pm)
I see, I do keep it in the pond, where it gets plenty of sun, and algae on the wall for them to feed on, not a green water.  WEll, I'll probably won't feed much color enhancer food then, mostly wheat germ and blood worm.  Maybe every 1.5 week, feed some Hikari (which contain spirullina) 
Thanks for the input guys, if there is anything I can improve, feel free to give me tips, my ears are open good.gif

For Calico, normally you will like to have a vibrant red/orange on the black and white background. How your fish looks like? unsure.gif