Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Pure Breed Goldfish
RafflesGold Forums > Discussion Area > Fancy Goldfish
aquaculture_grp
HI EVERYONE, I WOULD LIKE TO GET EVERYONE'S ADVICE OR SUGGESTIONS ON THIS. I AM CURRENTLY A STUDENT IN MY SCH'S AQUACULTURE CLUB. WE HAVE DECIDED TO REAR SOME GOLDFISHES. SO WE ARE NOW LOOKING FOR SOME PURE BREED RANCHU. WE WANT TO KNOW IF THERE'S ANY GOLDFISH FARM HERE IN SINGAPORE THAT SELLS THEM. I KNOW THAT ITS QUITE DIFFCULT TO GET SUCH A GOLDFISH, BUT MY MEMEBERS AND I HAVE DEDCIDED TO GO ALL OUT. AND I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE SOME RECOMMENDATIONS ON COMPANIES THAT IMPORTS PURE BREED RANCHUS! THANKS ALOT! AND SEASON'S GREETINGS TO ALL RAFFLES GOLD MEMEBERS!
bekko
All goldfish are the same species. All goldfish have many different varieties in their genes. You need to understand how each variety was developed from other varieties that preceded it. You need to realize that the genes for all those preceding varieties still reside in the new variety and can manifest themselves to varying degrees in the offspring. No variety breeds completely true-to-type. The majority of the offspring in every spawn are substandard and show deformities and/or the vestiges of characteristics from ancestral varieties.

Breeding goldfish requires knowledge of many desciplines - all of which are a good learning experience for an aquaculture club. You will learn about water chemistry, vertebrate and invertebrate zoology, nitrition, microbiology, pathology, genetics, physics and engineering, just to name a few.

-steve
Kinder
Im going a bit off topic here, but as we come to understand the nature of goldfish the past breeding ...to what we have now and the huge uncertainty when it comes to goldfish breeding (offsprings)