Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Greetings From California, Usa
RafflesGold Forums > Misc Rumble Area > Newbie Issues / Say "Hi"/ Testing
orandaluv
Hello All,

My name is Teri and I am new to the hobby of goldfish (water) keeping. I threw the water in there because I have learned rather quickly that we are not keepers of fish rather the keepers of their water. When I first got it in my head that I would like to have a goldfish, I thought a 5 gallon tank with 2 fancies in it would be good. The LFS pleaded with me that the tank was too small, and I was trying too soon to put the fish in. The tank had not had a chance to cycle. Well, my thought was this...the fish were just babies, and I would be more than happy to do weekly water changes. Haha haa haaa...right!

That was back in October of 2007 (not too long ago). 5 fishies lost their lives in that 5 gallon tank before I got one to survive. I now have a 20 gallon tank with an adult Oranda, and the 5 gallon houses a baby Oranda. Soon the baby will go to the 20 gallon, and the 5 gallon will go in to retirement. No goldfish should ever be kept in a 5 gallon tank!

I have fine-tuned my goldfish keeping skills with the help of another goldfish forum. Their moderators and helpers are very knowledgeable, it is a wonderful site. I am looking forward to learning much more on this forum too, and was really happy to find RG.

Sincerely, Teri

aka - orandaluv

100_0710.jpg
PERRY
HI and welcome Teri I too am from california. Glad you learned your lesson on tank size. That is a beautiful oranda u have there. What part of california are you in?
CP
Welcome to RG.

Do take your time to browse thru the threads, and there are also a few other members from US who comes in quiet regularly here.
orandaluv
QUOTE(PERRY @ Sun, 03 Feb 2008 2:36 pm) *

HI and welcome Teri I too am from california. Glad you learned your lesson on tank size. That is a beautiful oranda u have there. What part of california are you in?

Hello Perry,