Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Green Water & High Ph
RafflesGold Forums > Discussion Area > Green Water, Filtration and Tank Setup
nzkingyo
Hi I have been keeping goldfish for about 10 years and breeding them seriously for the last 5. I have a question regarding green water and high pH, I have looked through the archives and can't seem to find anything hence this post.
My query is I have started 2 new 1200 L ponds and seeded them with green water and while the amonia, nitrite and nitrate are fantastic at 0 (I have 6 medium sized fish in each pond) the pH is out of what I would normally class as an acceptable range at between 9 and 9.5. I have tried changing about 50% of the water yesterday and it dropped to 8.9 but this evening it was back up to 9.4, is this high pH normal? Is it part of the initialisation period or have I done something seriously wrong?
A third pond (same size and fish loading) that I started a week and a half ago is currently sitting at 7.6 and is slowly becoming more green. In the last 24 hours it has gone from pretty clear to having a tinge of green and I'm worried that the pH on that one will also climb into the realms of the unacceptable.
I want to learn how to use green water effectively as I beleive the results I've seen posted and the fact that most fish farms and breeders tend to use it would suggest that to master it will be worth the effort.
Also the ponds I run on BB tend to be great in terms of amonia and nitrate but I always struggle to control the nitrates.
CP
Nothing wrong, perfectly normal.
pH for greenwater can go as high as 10.
bekko
The algae removes carbon dioxide (a weak acid) for photosynthesis. As the CO2 is depleted the pH rises. At night, when photosynthesis is shut down, CO2 is replenished through respiration. At dawn, your pH should be about the same as clear water. Somehow, these fluctuations do not bother the fish.

-steve
nzkingyo