Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Jyokko?
RafflesGold Forums > Discussion Area > Fancy Goldfish
hahnsberg
Hello,

This is my first time posting, but I have been reading many of the posts here for a few months. I am amazed at all the knowledge concentrated in one place!

Has anyone ever seen or heard of a Jyokko gold fish?

A picture can be seen here, if you scroll down a bit: http://koishack.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=14955.

They look very beautiful.

Richard
CP
Er............nope. blush.gif Never heard of it, and certainly not available locally.

I suspect there are many more types not known to many; especially in China and Japan.
sabao
Hi Richard - Jyokko is a new variety developed in Japan by a friend of Tamakin who uses the call sign Tinkerbell on the internet. He does not speak English well so rarely do we hear from him. But here's a few of the photos he sent last year for anyone that did not see them in that Goldfish Shack link.

This is a very elegant and refined new type of goldfish that hopefully soon we will see exported from Japan. So far it's been difficult to get much information on Aizu-Jyokko.

Tom

jyokko1.jpg

jyokko2.jpg

jyokko_3_1_.jpg

jyokko4.jpg
hahnsberg
Thank you, Tom, for the information and the pictures. I love the hibuna conformation -- and the fins on these fish are stunning!

I really favour top-view for goldfish. I noticed that several of the 'feeder fish' at the local pet stores had the Tancho Kohaku koi pattern (roughly), so I bought as many as I could find. I hope to feed them up and see if I can breed a nice pattern, like on a good Tancho. I must be common in these fish -- there is always at least 2-3 of them in a tank. I got 20 or so, and two are nearly perfect already. I hope the colours stay as they grow.

For being so fragile at the pet store, I haven't lost one. I keep them outside in large tubs in green water with an airstone or two, and all have lived so far (six months).

Many thanks again,

Richard