Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Is This Normal ?
RafflesGold Forums > Discussion Area > Green Water, Filtration and Tank Setup
nivia
First of all, like to thanks all contributors to Pinned Topic on PH Buffer. Otherwise
I would still be struggling to cycle my Oranda tank. I am new to keeping goldfish.
Struggle for 1 month plus, until come across RG topic on PH Buffer. Did 100% water
change, and adding SB to buffer pH, did wonder. Ammonia spike goes to zero on
second day and Nitrite on the third day. My initial problem was PH around 6.0 during
the one month plus I struggled. All the internet articles on fish or fishless cycling
I come across don't mentioned that PH was critical for BB. Making me spending alot
of money on test kits.

But now I found my 8 Oranda like to occasionally cluster together at the top
as shown in below picture. After clustering at top it would then swim normally
Is this normal ? Or my tank still not fully cycle and there is water quality issue ?
Condition :- 2 feet tank with top filter and sponge filter in tank, 8 small Oranda,
Ammonia = 0 mg/L, Nitrite = 0 mg/L, Nitrate = 10 mg/L
pH = 7.5, KH = 5 dKH,

I also did 100 % WC with buffered to 5 dKH and pH of 7.5 (my tap water pH = 7.5,
Eastern part of Spore). But after a few hours the Oranda would again cluster around
at the top occasionally.

Oranda.jpg
CP
There is no mention on where your medias (for bacteria) are housed ; if its dependent on the sponge filter it may be insufficient or may be destroyed during water change.

Even though Amm =0 ; Nitrite =0 and Nitrates = 10, the presence of nitrates are too little to indicate that tank is cycled. It may be nitrates inherent from tap water.Hold off the water changes for the time being and take the 3 readings daily - if the first 2 readings remain 0 and nitatrates keeps increasing then its a sign that tank is cycled.